Nataas double highlights Dodge Power Brokers NHRA US Nationals Sportsman

In addition to the NHRA Camping World Drag Racing Series action at Lucas Oil Indianapolis Raceway Park, 10 Lucas Oil Series winners were also crowned competing at the Dodge Power Brokers NHRA US Nationals.

Julie Nataas won’t soon forget her 2022 Indy weekend. By winning the JEGS Allstars Best Alcohol Dragster crown on Saturday night, his OTG dragster lost all of its body panels in the lights. The Randy Meyer Racing team drove a fresh body from Kansas overnight to allow them to continue the eliminations, which led to a dominating performance as the No. 1 qualifier capped their Labor Day weekend with a double celebration after a 5.23-5.34 win over Mike Coughlin for his second win of the year and his first at the Dodge Power Brokers NHRA US National Championships.

Prevailing Top Funny Alcohol Car world champion Sean Bellemeur won the Dodge Power Brokers NHRA US Nationals for the second time, driving his Steve Boggs-tuned Bartone Brothers Camaro at a 5.46 to defeat DJ Cox Jr., as he did earlier this season in Charlotte for the first Killer Bs. 2022 win. Bellemeur’s other win in Indy came in 2018, the year he won his first of three season championships.

After breaking a 14-year winning drought earlier this season in Topeka, Doug Engels added a second US National comp trophy on his shelf to sit next to his silverware from 2008. Engels, the No. 1 qualifier, went through five rounds losing just 0.03 seconds against the competition index control, then beat a ( -0.58) 7.38 in the final to defeat the (-0.53) 7.41 of three-time world champion and 2019 Indy winner Frank Aragona Jr.

Pete D’Agnolo ran his record in the NHRA Event National Finals to a perfect 5-0 when he won Indy Superb stock final against James Caro. D’Agnolo, the winner at Gainesville earlier this season, drove his Camaro to 9.639 on his 9.64 dial to win the double breakout final.

Less than a year after winning his first national title in Bristol, Brett Candies scores again in Indy after a double breakout Store final against Jim Marshall. Candy was able to celebrate at the same track where his late father, Paul, won the 1976 Top Fuel title with driver Richard Tharp.

Austin Williams claimed his second Dodge Power Brokers NHRA US Nationals crown, confirming his triumph in 2019 with a victory this time in SuperComp. The Lone Star State superstar beat five-time Super Gas National Event winner Jason Kenny in the finals with an 8.91 after Kenny took on too many stripes and burst with an 8.891 after a brilliant 0.002 reaction time second.

The versatile Bo Butner added another trophy to his championship mantle as the former Pro Stock and Comp World Champion won his first Dodge Power Brokers NHRA US Nationals title with his second career Super Gas to win. Butner, who has also won national events in Pro Stock, Comp, Super Stock and Super Street, beat fellow Hoosier and former SPORTSnationals champion Steve Hoyt for the title.

Douglas Wood made his second win at the NHRA national event a big win, winning a close game great street last round against Ryan Locke. Wood, the 2017 Atlanta Super Street champion, took the tape by just 0.002 seconds over Locke as both riders had excellent reaction times and ran near the 10.90 class rating.

The Best Dragster presented by the Vortech Superchargers class has been contested at the US Dodge Power Brokers NHRA National Championships only four times and Rusty Baxter has won two. Baxter, the 2019 Indy champion, scored again running a 6.172 on his 6.13 dial to defeat Dane Ward in the final round.

Vince Hoda earned the biggest victory of his career at the Dodge Power Brokers NHRA US Nationals when he stopped Craig Liles in the final of Best Sportsman brought to you by Vortech Superchargers. Hoda powered to 6.63 against his 6.70 clock after a Liles foul.